

#WeAreUSACricket

July 19, 2018

RE: HISTORIC INAUGURAL USA CRICKET ELECTION BEGINS TOMORROW

Dear USA Cricket Membership,

As you will see in today's media release which can be found <u>here</u>, USA Cricket's inaugural Board of Director elections begin tomorrow, July 20th at 1pm PT. These elections, which will engage nearly 5,700 voters across the U.S. cricket community, will elect the seven constituent Board seats. Before I get into more detail on the elections, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for both your membership of USA Cricket and also for your patience as we've taken extra time to "dot i's and cross t's" to make sure we get this first election right.

With respect to the elections, the seats, candidates, voting pool, respective terms, and any other relevant notes are listed below for your reference:

Three Individual Director Seats

- Elected by the Individual members of USA Cricket who have been deemed eligible to vote.
- Candidates running in alphabetical order are:
 - Avinash Gaje
 - Rameshu Immadi
 - Ajay Jhamb
 - o Jatin Patel
 - o Venu Pisike
 - o Shantha Suraweera
 - Suraj Viswanathan
 - Brian Walters
- Board terms as confirmed by the Nominating and Governance Committee to implement staggering are:
 - Initial 3 year term to the candidate who receives the highest number of votes.
 - Initial 2 year term to the candidate who receives the second highest number of votes.

- Initial 1 year term to the candidate who receives the third highest vote total.
- Per the USA Cricket Constitution, all three seats cannot be filled by individuals who come from the same Conference. If the three leading vote recipients are from the same Conference, then the candidate who otherwise would be elected who receives the fewest number of votes will not be elected, and the candidate receiving the next-highest number of votes and who does not reside in the same Conference as the other Individual Directors will be elected.

One League Director Seat

- Elected by the member League account holders who have been deemed eligible to vote .
- Candidates running in alphabetical order are:
 - Mark Demos
 - o Shuja Khan
 - Sushil Nadkarni
 - o Atul Rai
- Serves an initial 3 year term for staggering.

One Club Director Seat

- Elected by the member Club account holders who have been deemed eligible to vote.
- Candidates running in alphabetical order are:
 - o John L. Aaron
 - Ajith Bhaskar
 - Jag (Uday) Poosarla
 - Maq Qureshi
 - Aziz Savul
- Serves an initial 2 year term for staggering.

One Female Player Director Seat

- Elected by female cricketers who are members of USA Cricket and who meet the definition of Female International Player as defined by the USA Cricket Constitution.
- Candidates running in alphabetical order are:
 - \circ Nadia T. Gruny
 - $\circ \quad \text{Erica Rendler}$
- Serves an initial 2 year term for staggering.

One Male Player Director Seat

- Elected by male cricketers who are members of USA Cricket and who meet the definition of Male International Player as defined by the USA Cricket Constitution.
- Candidate running is:
 - Usman Shuja
- Serves an initial 1 year term for staggering.

The candidate statements for all the aforementioned candidates can be found <u>here</u>. In addition, the final lists of eligible voters can be found here: <u>Individuals</u>, <u>Leagues and</u> <u>Clubs</u>, and <u>International Players</u>.

As was previously communicated via email, the election for the inaugural USA Cricket Board of Directors will be conducted electronically to engage as many stakeholders as possible in the election process. In order to facilitate the election, USA Cricket has partnered with Electionbuddy.com, a world-class election company that has conducted nearly 28,000 secure and anonymous online elections with a total of more than 5.8 million voters. Ballots will be sent to the list of eligible voters as of April 24, 2018, that has been reviewed and adjudicated through two separate peer review processes. Other relevant details on the election are as follows:

- Voters for each respective seat will receive an email invitation to vote from invitations@app.electionbuddy.com with a subject of "Vote now: USA Cricket Inaugural Board Elections" on July 20 at 1pm PT. The elections will be open until July 29 at 11:59pm PT. To increase the chance of delivery, eligible voters should add the email address above to their contact list to teach their email program that the sender is "safe." Electionbuddy also follows industry best practices including employing DMARC, with SPF and DKIM authentication, to talk to spam filters to validate the sent email.
- The email will include a link to the voter's ballot which will be customized to ensure voters are only able to vote for the seats they're eligible for. For example, some voters are eligible to vote for multiple classes of Directors (e.g. both Individual and League) if they are registered as both or can hold multiple Club votes if they are the representative of more than one Club. Single votes in multiple classes will come under the same email ballot while multiple votes in one class (e.g. Clubs) will come in separate email ballots.
- Once the voter clicks on the link, they will be taken to their customized ballot and after their vote is submitted, that email address will not be able to vote again.
- This election will use a "Preferential Voting with Multiple Vacancies (<u>https://electionbuddy.com/stv</u>)" model for the Individual Director seats and a "Preferential Voting (<u>https://electionbuddy.com/preferential</u>)" model for the League and Club seats to minimize the probability of needing a run-off election where multiple candidates are running. The Female and Male Player Director seats will use a "Plurality Voting (<u>https://electionbuddy.com/plurality?ref=plurality</u>)" model given there are two and one candidate respectively.
- For the Individual, League and Club Director seats, voters are encouraged to rank all of the candidates in order of their preference using the drop down boxes with #1 being their top choice. While a voter is not required to rank all of the candidates, ranking as many candidates as possible ensures the voter has a greater say in determining the eventual winners as the preferential voting algorithm works through the process.
- The Player Director seats will simply be asked to choose one candidate to vote for.
- The voting will be completely anonymous and results will be validated by a third

party auditor.

- ICC Americas/USA Cricket staff will not be able to track the results during the election window and will only see final results at the conclusion of the election.
- In the unlikely event of a tie in any of the categories, the Nominating and Governance Committee shall determine the steps necessary to break the tie including, but not limited to, holding a run-off election.
- Individuals who are eligible to vote who don't receive their ballot on July 20 should contact me directly using my contact information below.

Once the electronic election is complete, the final three seats on the USA Cricket Board will be filled by Independent Directors who are recruited and nominated by the Nominating and Governance Committee and ratified by the seven (7) elected Directors. The objective is for the full Board to be seated by no later than mid-September. Finally, an application for membership to the International Cricket Council (ICC) will be reviewed by no later than the end of 2018.

Thanks again for your support of USA Cricket! Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any questions at <u>eric.parthen@iccamericas.com</u> or (719) 330-9984.

Sincerely,

Eric J. Parthen USA Project Manager

Email: eric.parthen@iccamericas.com

Cell: +1-719-330-9984